Main image

The Absence Of War

The Absence Of War

By David Hare
Directed by Jeremy Herrin
Presented by Headlong, Rose Theatre Kingston and Sheffield Theatres

It's now or never for George Jones. The charismatic leader of the Labour Party needs to get out of opposition and into Number Ten. Plagued by a hostile media, beset by divisions in his party and haunted by his own demons, George has three weeks to convince the Great British Public that he's their man. But how much compromise is he prepared to make? How can you truly appeal to the man in the street from the House of Commons? And which tie should he wear for Prime Minister's Questions?

Headlong presents a vigorous new production of David Hare’s funny, stinging political drama on a timely national tour during the build up to the 2015 General Election.

David Hare is one of England’s foremost playwrights and screenwriters. His plays include Plenty, Skylight, The Permanent Way and Stuff Happens. He has received two Academy Award nominations for The Hours and The Reader.

Jeremy Herrin is Artistic Director of Headlong. His recent work includes the RSC world premiere of Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall/Bring up the Bodies, The Nether (Headlong/Royal Court) and This House (National Theatre). Headlong’s recent productions include 1984, Chimerica, Spring Awakening and The Seagull

David Hare and Jeremy Herrin have previously collaborated on South Downs (Chichester Festival Theatre/West End) and The Vertical Hour (Royal Court). The Absence of War is a co-production by Headlong, Rose Theatre Kingston and
Sheffield Theatres, and was part of Hare's trilogy of state of of the nation plays which includes Racing Demon and Murmuring Judges.

GEORGE JONES – Reece Dinsdale
Leader of the Labour Party

OLIVER DIX – Cyril Nri
George’s political advisor

ANDREW BUCHAN – James Harkness
George’s minder

LINDSAY FONTAINE – Charlotte Lucas
George’s publicity advisor

MARY HOUSEGO – Amiera Darwish
George’s press secretary

GWENDA AARON – Maggie McCarthy
George’s diary secretary

MALCOLM PRYCE – Gyuri Sarossy
Shadow Chancellor

BRUCE – Theo Cowan
Malcolm’s minder

BRYDEN THOMAS – Barry McCarthy
MP - Deputy Leader of the Labour Party / Chairman of the Campaign

Prime Minister / Broadcaster

TREVOR AVERY – Ekow Quartey
Security from Special Branch

VERA KLEIN – Helen Ryan
Veteran Labour Party Member

More information on the production available here.

We're sorry but there are no upcoming dates for this event.

Nov 2017
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat